Satanism: The only religion that accepts everyone

Now that I have your attention and have alienated more than half of my readership…

I was watching Tosh.0 the other day (yes, I am aware this is not wholesome television, to say the very least, but I am going somewhere with this), and the host, Daniel Tosh, did a bit with this “metal club” (as in music, not building material) from a high school.  He asked the students if they were Satanists (the predominant view being that all metalheads are Satan worshippers).  One member said they were and he asked why, to which she replied, “because it’s the only religion that accepts everybody.” Daniel then threw out that Christianity does that and she fired back, “except gay people.”

Ugh.  That was awful.  I could see myself in that young woman, a bit.  I have never been a Satanist, but, for a time, I did choose Wicca over Christianity, partially for its perceived inclusiveness.  I really wanted to explain to her the flaw in her thinking, but being that she was on a television show, I couldn’t do that.  Instead, I will use my blog to counter the pervasive viewpoint that Christianity is an exclusive club only accepting people of a certain pedigree.

It is true that some of the more vocal “christians” (please note the little ‘c’) that get a lot of attention in the media portray a very distorted picture of Christ’s church. One of the consequences of this is that the public sees people, supposedly speaking for Christ, spouting messages of hate that give the impression that Christianity does not accept gay people, women who have abortions, criminals, sex workers, and the list goes on and on. However, this portrayal is 100% false because Christ said:

“For I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners.” Matthew 9:13b NIV

Similarly, the Apostle John wrote:

“If we claim to be without sin, we deceive ourselves and the truth is not in us. If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness. If we claim we have not sinned, we make him out to be a liar and his word has no place in our lives.” 1 John 1:8-10 NIV

Christians are a rag-tag, mish-mash of darn, dirty sinners. What sets the Christian apart is the recognition that they are a sinner and having a relationship with Christ that helps them work each day to overcome their sinfulness and bring glory to God.  It ain’t easy, folks.  Don’t be fooled by those masquerading as the hands and feet of Christ waving homemade signs of hatred: you are welcome at the feet of the Lord.

I imagine there might be some of you out there that still think Christianity is really only for the “goody-two-shoes” type and those who believe themselves to be “better” than the general population, while these people may exist within the Christian church, we Christians are much more diverse than that.

Let’s take a look at some of the people in Christ’s lineage (Matthew 1:1-6):

  • Tamar (Genesis 38): uses deceit and commits adultery to conceive children in Christ’s lineage
  • Rahab (Joshua 2; 6:17): prostitute
  • David (the great King David): adulterer and rapist (2 Samuel:11); Before anyone gets upset about me calling King David a rapist, read the Scripture.  They may not have called it such back then, but Bathsheba was not in a position to say “no” to the king, making their “encounter” rape by today’s standards.

This is a small sampling of the short-comings of the individuals in the bloodline of our perfect Lord and savior, Jesus Christ.  There are many others in his lineage that are also less-than-perfect.  I am in no way suggesting that the choices made by the three individuals above were acceptable, rather, they highlight the fact that Jesus is quite literally, for EVERYONE.  He’s not only for the person who struggles with lying, but also for the rapist and the murderer.

Satanism may accept everyone, but Christianity can provide forgiveness for everyone.  Regardless of what you have done or what you continue to do today, Christ is here to release you of your burdens and provide you the strength to work daily towards a new way of being.  The kind of being that accepts everyone, flaws and all.

So whatever you are struggling with today, come.

Christ does not expect you to be perfect, but He can make you perfect in the eyes of God.

18 thoughts on “Satanism: The only religion that accepts everyone

    • Thank you! I revised this so many times to make sure my wording was just right. I’m sure I’ll find things I could say differently later on, but I felt I had to pull the trigger today.

      I’m hoping this post has a positive impact 🙂 I’m hoping the nature of the world wide web helps out with that! It’s amazing how things can circulate sometimes!

      Like

  1. I really like this post but have one question as I get to the end. Do the accepting Christians you speak of accept gay people as they believe it to be sin and the Lord forgives all and accepts everyone? As if that is the case then that is just as bad as not accepting…on my view.

    Like

    • Unless there is a theological explanation that I am unaware of (and there very well may be), Christians don’t get to decide what is sin and what isn’t. This is a difficult aspect of Christianity for me because I have several homosexual family members and friends so I still have a lot to sort out for myself.

      Part of my point is that we all do things that are sinful and to single out certain people as being worse than the rest of us is not part of the message of Christ. Admittedly, the issue of homosexuality is more complicated than some of the others because homosexuality is part of a person’s identity. Also, having never been homosexual, I have zero idea what that is like. All I can do is reflect to the world that no matter what, God loves everyone all the same.

      Did I answer your question?

      Like

      • Yes. 🙂 I do, however, think there is an implication in this way of thinking that being homosexual is sinful (not by you, just in general) and to ask people to accept homosexuality EVEN THOUGH IT IS SINFUL send the wrong message. I understand that it is not up to the individual to determine what is and isn’t sin but there are plenty of christians around who don’t live by that. Argh. Christianity is so complex.

        Like

        • There is no implication. The Bible says that being homosexual is a sin. The Christian is called to “love the sinner, hate the sin.” We are to accept the person, not their homosexuality. The problem with that then becomes how does the Christian accept a person but reject a fundamental part of who they are? This I cannot answer.

          I struggle because, as a Christian, I believe that the Bible is the inspired Word of God which means I have to believe that homosexuality is something that a person can change about themselves with the help of God. I am very conflicted over this currently and am working pretty diligently to find a way to reconcile these things.

          However, at the end of the day, my internal conflict is irrelevant. The very clear message from the Word of God and from the mouth of Christ is that God loves every single person no matter what. He wants everyone to accept the gift of salvation available through Jesus Christ so that He can have a relationship with them. Being homosexual does not prevent a person from gaining salvation. If that were the case, I would not be saved because I judge unfairly, lie by omission, think hateful thoughts, am quick to anger, and et cetera. “If you declare with your mouth, ‘Jesus is Lord,’ and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.” Romans 10:9 NIV

          I may have gotten rather ramble-y there….

          I don’t think that Christianity is complicated, but I do think that humans have made it so.

          Like

          • I really like that last line. Interestingly, our last PM (who is staunchly Christian but came out pro gay marriage last year) responded to this argument that the bible says homosexuality is a sin by saying something like “yes, but it also says that slavery is OK”. I thought that was a great point. We need to adopt an old text to our times.

            The best attempt I have every seen as reconciling this by a strong Christiam woman is Glennon at Momastery. Here is a link to a great one but she has others so look for links in the post or on her site or just search Glennon homosexual. She has a great brain this woman. I truly admire her.

            http://momastery.com/blog/2013/06/24/i-love-gay-people-and-i-love-christians-i-choose-all/

            Like

            • So I have now tried to reply to this something like 4 times only to have it disappear! So I am going to simply say, thank you for sharing that post. It gives me a very well though out perspective to examine.

              I, too, need to wrestle with God over this issue, but at the end of the day, the most important things to remember are: “Love God with all your heart, soul, and mind. And to love your neighbor as yourself.” That isn’t verbatim, but it’s pretty darn close.

              Like

  2. deanna-your very loving aunt says:

    Thank you. You know a bit of my struggle with the whole religion thing, I am reminded that religion and Christianity are two different things. I, as many others do, think of them as one, they are not! My way back to believing is to remember the difference, one is accepting, one, not so much.

    Like

    • You are absolutely right! Religion is about rules and Christianity is about a relationship. No amount of following rules will get a person ever-lasting life if they are full of hate. Seeking God, knowing that you can never be perfect like Christ, and always striving to bring glory to God will. God loves everyone. He wants everyone to come to know Christ so He can have a relationship with us.

      Like

Sit a spell.

