Seizures? Are You Freaking Kidding Me?!?

Borrowed from nwkpsych.rutguers.edu

O.K. folks, time to slow down with a serious post.  Since February, we have been dealing with my little boy potentially having a seizure disorder.  He had what appeared to be a seizure in February, but since there were no other symptoms associated with the episode, it was kind of written off as just potentially being an anomaly.  Then, he had another seizure-like episode in June.  After this, we went for an EEG which came back completely normal.  This is when we entered the “wait and see” period of his medical life.  Then yesterday, he had another episode and the doctor said what I described sounded much more like a true seizure than before.  Things are now moving pretty swiftly with this rather unnerving medical problem.

Due to also describing some times when the little guy had balance issues, the doc immediately consulted with a pediatric neurologist.  Now we will be scheduling an MRI (which will require sedation to keep a squirmy two year-old still).  We are also waiting to schedule an appointment with a pediatric neurologist.  The other piece of concern here is starting medication.  He has been prescribed Trileptal which will require regular monitoring of his blood to screen for liver toxicity, anemia, and blood marrow suppression.  Scary business.

As we are just beginning this journey, I have a lot of research ahead of me.  I have a very good support system (some even have experienced a similar situation), but I am hoping that there are other parents out there that can offer up their experiences and information.  If you are one of these parents, please leave a comment, share a link, or contact me directly.  Feel free to share this post so others can chime in, as well.

19 thoughts on “Seizures? Are You Freaking Kidding Me?!?

  1. I will be thinking of you. I know that my father took trileptal for seizures but do not know details. I can ask though if you have any questions about that medicine.

    Like

    • Thank you so much. It would be great if you would ask. I would love to hear from someone who has taken the med and can describe the experience. I have a cousin who took it, but she is severely brain damaged.

      Like

  2. Were there any triggers? I had a family member who had seizures when he was very tired or very upset. I’m not sure if the medication he took was trileptal, but it made him disoriented. He went off medication, but we are still careful to avoid the triggers.

    Like

Sit a spell.

