My True Home

Sunset in Winchester Bay

Sunset in Winchester Bay

I have not posted on here in A LONG time.  I don’t have any specific topic in mind today, but I feel like a quick piece of writing will easily come to me.  It’s pretty peaceful up here in my little wooded hideaway: I can hear the birds chattering away outside and everything seems so calm and relaxed after finally receiving even the tiniest bit of rain.  My how we need rain!  It looks like it might rain some more, the forecast calls for it, but I am not going to hold my breath.  We’ve been teased over the past several days, and I don’t want to be disappointed.  I was thrilled to see everything a little damp this morning as I poured my morning coffee.

I absolutely LOVE the rain.  Summer is my archenemy.  I relish in the transitional seasons of Autumn and Spring.  Unfortunately, this lovely Spring was cut drastically short this year as it seems that Summer arrived weeks ago.  Typically, Summer doesn’t truly show up here in Western Oregon until July, which, I am perfectly fine with.  It is times like these when I literally ache for the Oregon Coast.  I live in the Willamette Valley now (I’m less than 2 hours from the coast, but you don’t feel the coast AT ALL).  There is just something about the cool, crisp, ocean air that makes me feel alive and completely content.  You can also count on wild, uncontrolled storms to whip up at any given moment.  Those storms are beautiful and exhilarating.  I have yet to experience anything like that during my decade in the valley.  Currently, the weather is hot (by Western Oregon standards) and uneventful.  Today, seems to be a brief exception to the rule and it is cool and overcast, somewhat reminiscent of my glorious Oregon Coast.

It is difficult to feel so connected to specific geography.  Many people I have met that have moved to the Willamette Valley from other states have become quite attached and quickly begin to identify as Oregonians.  This may be specific to me (though I doubt it), but even after 10 years of living in the valley, I still cannot say that I am “from” here.  My soul belongs to the wild coast.  I miss it constantly and wish to someday return.  I know that this will never happen, but the longing never disappears.  Today, I am conflicted over whether I wish for that feeling to vanish.  I would like to feel completely “at home” where I shall surely reside the rest of the days of my life, but I don’t think that I can ever completely release my “true home.”  I am the Oregon Coast.

3 thoughts on “My True Home

Sit a spell.

