Project Simplify – Weeks 2 & 3: That Pesky Closet and Piles

I’m back and I’ve been going nuts on my house trying to downsize in preparation for baby #2.  Needless to say, my Project Simplify has taken on a life of its own.  I thought that I would stay on-track with this, but I needed almost a week to recover from my cross-country vacation to see family.  Traveling while 5 months pregnant with a toddler is A LOT more exhausting than I thought it would be.  I don’t think I’ve ever been so tired in my life.  Now, I am home and grounded for probably about the next year and a half or so.  I digress…

I should have done “That Pesky Closet” during the week of April 16 and “Piles” during the week of April 23.  How it turned out is that I sort of combined the two, beginning on April 20.  I have deviated from my original plan because I think I hit the nesting phase of pregnancy WAY early.  We decided to transition our nearly two-year old son to a toddler bed which was an amazing success.  Never underestimate the power of Elmo!  Due to adding more furniture to the kids’ room, I had to get rid of the dresser.  I now have all of my toddler’s clothing and clothing for the new baby in the closet.  I found these great hanging closet organizers that give so much more storage space.  Next, I decided to clean up some piles in our bedroom.  I bought an under-bed organizer that holds all of our bags that I had just been piling up in corners.  Now we have more space for getting the changing table and bassinet situated when the time comes.  The last project I did during this combined week of simplification was to get rid of the sideboard in our dining room.  The high chair that we have is pretty big and I don’t want to buy a new one, so to make room enough for two messy young eaters, I did some serious downsizing.  This was my most proud moment of simplifying 🙂  And now, some photos (I don’t have a photo of the kids’ closet):

Daddy and Nevan building the bed! Note the dresser in the back.

Daddy and Nevan building the bed! Note the dresser in the back.

No dresser!

No dresser!

The shelf that my hubby installed to help with Operation No Dresser.

The shelf that my hubby installed to help with Operation No Dresser.

Pile #1 in Mommy & Daddy's room.

Pile #1 in Mommy & Daddy’s room.

And...gone!

And…gone!

Pile #2 in Mommy and Daddy's room.

Pile #2 in Mommy and Daddy’s room.

Pile gone.  Just the diaper bag now.

Pile gone. Just the diaper bag now.

Dining room with sideboard.

Dining room with sideboard.

Dining room sans sideboard.

Dining room sans sideboard.

So there ya have it!  Next week (which begins tomorrow, April 30), is “That Put-Off Project.”  I’m not 100% sure what I’m going to do.  I’m thinking the basement room needs my attention now because I have several furniture pieces down there that need selling.  I’m going to have to get seriously motivated to make this happen!

Related:

Simple Mom: Project Simplify

Project Simplify – Week 1: Drawers and Shelves

4 thoughts on “Project Simplify – Weeks 2 & 3: That Pesky Closet and Piles

Sit a spell.

