Dr. Seuss’s Birthday!!!

This has nothing to do with literacy, but it makes me happy :)

This has nothing to do with literacy, but it makes me happy 🙂

According to a commercial for “The Cat In the Hat Knows A Lot About That” on PBS, Friday, March 1 is Dr. Seuss’s birthday.  I am naturally over-the-moon excited about this (OK, maybe not THAT excited) because I LOVE Dr. Seuss books and so does my son.  On a side note, I recently found out that my mother hates to read Dr. Seuss.  Weird.  Where did my love of his crazy rhyming stories come from?  I’m guessing, rebellion.

In my house we are always reading and working on words.  I love language and have a great time working on early literacy skills with my 20 month old son.  He loves to talk and read stories.  We mostly just name objects, but he is staring to get some two-word phrases down.  In the vein of promoting literacy, I would like to celebrate Dr. Seuss’s birthday.  The only problem is, I’m not really sure how to do it.  Of course, I can read his stories, find some coloring pages, or watch PBS, but what are some more creative ideas?  I want to work on early literacy and inspire creativity and play.

Do any of you creative, experienced parents have any ideas for me?!?

2 thoughts on “Dr. Seuss’s Birthday!!!

Sit a spell.

